Spring TNR Preparations

This week I will be putting my preparations into high gear because I had a visitor this weekend. Actually, I had two visitors, but only one was a concern. I’m not too sure what to do about this.

The house feels stuffy to me when I don’t have any windows or doors open for a week or so.  Saturday was a nice warm day with a slight breeze so I had the front door open with the cats safely tucked into their playroom. My first visitor was a beautiful blue kitty. He came right up to my front door as if to say hello. I noticed his tipped ear and I was so happy to learn that someone in the neighborhood must have trapped and taken him to be neutered. I don’t know if they’re following through with feeding because this fella comes around my house regularly at dinner time.

There’s another stripped cat that comes from across the street to eat each night but I hadn’t seen her close up until Saturday evening. Unfortunately, she seems quite far along in a pregnancy and that creates a dilemma for me. If I trap her now, I will have to house her in a crate for at least 6 weeks or more. I’m sure her kittens will come within a week or so, then they will need her to feed them until they are weaned. So I would be keeping a whole family in a large dog crate and I’m not sure that’s what I should do for that length of time.

Pregnant visitor

Pregnant visitor

I have been feeding her every day. Now I don’t know how much of the food she’s getting or how much Blue Boy has been eating.

So my work begins. I’ve stashed away an extra bag of Yesterday’s News litter for post-surgery care. I need to buy some extra food and give all the crates and traps a thorough cleaning before I catch any more cats. I’ve bought and assembled two nice storage cabinets to store my growing cache of supplies. For the most part, my living room is once again comfortable if not completely organized. I have one more room that needs the “Clean Sweep” treatment and I could use a little surplus savings before I have to invest in clinic visits.

