Testing and Drop Trapping…

I began to test the drop trap around noon when I knew there wouldn’t be any cats or kittens watching me and hoping for food. I thought that would give me enough time to solve any problems I found. I was sent some helpful tips from a Community Cat Coalition members. I made sure that the trap would land on level ground so the kitten wouldn’t slip out from under the trap. I propped the trap up and went to where I would be when I was ready to catch the kitten and pulled the chord to get used to how it would feel.

Trap reading for first feeding.

Glad I tested it out! I thought I was going to prop the trap up from close to the side of the trap. That wasn’t going to work because when the trap fell it also moved slightly to the side.

The trip - prop too far to the corner of the trap.

The trip – prop too far to the corner of the trap.

Also, the folded flooring wasn’t going provide enough weight if I had a cat with any strength playing ricochet around the inside of the trap. My solution was to use some landscape border bricks and duct tape to make sure the bricks wouldn’t fall on anyone’s tiny head when everything went flyin’!

Folded up play pen floor used to give the trap some weight.

Folded up play pen floor used to give the trap some weight.

Landscape border bricks and duct tape for weight.

Landscape border bricks and duct tape for weight.

I could use the flooring propped against a piece of vinyl lattice to provide a bit of a blind to stay behind so the kitten wouldn’t notice me.

Something to hide behind

Something to hide behind

I thought I solved all the problems I could and this evening would be the perfect time to catch the kitten. I would have about an hour of daylight after the time the kitten first showed up for dinner. Certainly, this shouldn’t take that long. I guessed it would take me about 20 minutes to catch, transfer the kitten into a small crate and bring it in the house. No problem, except….. it’s not that easy for a first timer to get the kitten  out of the drop trap!

All set up and ready to go...

All set up and ready to go…

