How I Built the Drop Trap

I didn’t have the time, money or motivation to build a drop trap from scratch, but I did have a child’s play pen that I bought when I began this project. I knew that I needed something that was a similar size and shape for the drop trap, so that’s where I began. The two problems I saw with the play pen was that it seemed too light and the netting seemed like it could be torn much too easily. I already learned that cats and kittens are really stronger and quicker than they look.  I bought some landscape fence netting that resembled chicken wire, except that it is made from plastic. I wanted to line the play pen with that fencing. I needed a way to attach that to what I had, so I also bought two packages of the zip ties for electric wiring.

Plastic netting tied to play pet.

Plastic netting tied to play pet.

Once I had some time, I brought it all out in the back yard to assemble. The fencing was the same height as the play pen was wide so I began by fixing it to one side of the play pen and then down the inside, across the bottom, and up the other side. All I had left was the inside of the two ends. I cut pieces that would line the two sides and secured them with the zip ties.

I knew I would have to get the kitten out and into a crate after I caught it, so I brought the havahart trap to one end to measure the opening. I cut a U-shape into the side and closed the new cut with plenty of ties. My plan was to cut the ties once the kitten was caught.

The opening to transfer the kitten to the havahart trap.

The opening to transfer the kitten to the havahart trap.

Unfortunately, it was too late in the day, to test the trap, so I just put some food under there the first evening to see if the kitten would even go in there. The first night feeding went well, but I wasn’t happy with the bowl. I knew I’d need something a bit deeper and smaller diameter, so the kitten would be far enough in the trap and have its vision blocked a bit for this to be successful.

Trap reading for first feeding.

Trap reading for first feeding.

