2 Great D.I.Y. Projects for Cat Lovers

I don’t mean to stray from the topic of my little feral family, but when I got the inspiration to make a cat tree out of the dead tree that I need to remove from my backyard, I decided to look around the web for other great D.I.Y. projects.

DIY Cat Scratching Post

Please go to Dream a Little Bigger for an excellent “How to…”

The first one I found is a DIY Cat Scratching Post. I’ve learned from my reading that lots of cat lovers prefer sisal rope as a material for scratching posts. That is why I bought some for the trunk of my cat tree project. I found this project on a blog called Dream a Little Bigger by a very sweet lady, who wrote clear instructions with photos. If you need a new cat scratching post, check out her project before you run out to the store… you might end up at the home improvement center rather than a pet store!

http://www.dreamalittlebigger.com/craft/2012/8/29/diy-cat-scratching-post.html

DIY Catio Designs for Inspiration

I like to go outside when the weather is nice! I think my pets enjoy fresh air as well, but it is very dangerous for the cats outside. I found this website that has a showcase of ideas for building a catio for your feline friends to safely enjoy some fresh air. You might want to check with your local building code enforcement before you build something on to your house. As for My Feral Family, we’ll just adapt the existing screen porch for the kittens.

http://catioshowcase.com/

What are your favorite D.I.Y. projects for cat lovers?

