Black Again

Success! I spent a lot – a lot of time with Coal. I moved his cage into my tiny bathroom after I took everything out of the bathroom. I was able to take him out of the cage by wrapping him in a towel. I put a piece of screen down in the sink and put Coal on it.
I worked from the head to the back, first with a warm wet sponge, then a comb, then a towel. I gave him and myself a couple of short breaks.What a mess! He seemed to understand that I was trying to help him and he just stayed very still. Once I got the whole kitten done, except the tail and the underside, I held him close to me and used a clean towel and continued to rub him.
He did start purring.
I made a cozy spot for him in the bathroom with some fresh towels and left him a litter box, some water, and food. He ate pretty well. Until I went to bed around 1 am, I periodically went in and held him. He stayed in the bathroom over night, much to my dog’s dismay I might add! In the morning at the crack of before dawn he started bouncing off the walls in there! He began meowing quite loudly. So I fed him in there. I noticed that he used his litter box, so I’m fairly confident that he didn’t swallow too much clumping litter!
He’s back in his crate, in the living room where the other kittens are. He’ll spend nights in the bathroom and days in his crate. He’ll hear the others talking and playing, so I hope he gets more comfortable in the house.
Now we have a peaceful, if crowded,

Peaceful, if crowded, living room.

Peaceful, if crowded, living room.

living room.

