Indoor Kitten Roundup

I’m afraid that the day before’s rodeo set the little feral kitten back. This kitten wasn’t as young as Tippy and his main vocalization is a growl. After losing the battle when he was held, he no longer wanted any part of handling. He was safely back in his little crate, but still very unhappy. I wondered if we’d ever earn his trust after that incident.

The next morning, his cramped crate was quite a mess again. It was clear that two things needed to happen. Immediately, he needed his crate cleaned and in the longer term, this guy desperately needed more room.

To take care of his crate that morning, I decided to risk opening the door and moving my hand very slowly to remove his water dish, refill his food dish, and remove his soiled litter. Upon removing the litter I noticed the towel on the bottom of the crate was both soiled and wet. I didn’t think that was healthy for him and decided since he’d been so good about me exchanging his empty food bowl with a full one, and refreshing his water, I could remove the towel – slowly, very slowly… so I did.

He was fine with that. Under the towel was the plastic crate liner that was also, soiled with a mixture of kitten food, feces, water, litter and who knows what else… but with the crate placed long ways between the two chairs there was no room for me to remove it. I turned the crate sideways and began to slide the liner out of the crate.

Uhmmm, take note! The distance between the wires on the bottom of a dog crate are much farther than the distance between the wires on the sides and tops! As a more experienced person might have guessed, this was not a great idea, though it seemed so at the time. The kitten saw his chance and now I had a loose feral kitten in my house and a 118 lb dog also loose in the house.

The kitten disappeared behind the pull-out living room couch, the dog was in the bedroom and I ran to ensure he’d stay there while we figured out how to round this kitten up.

Luckily we have a small fairly dark hallway. We decided to put an empty crate at the end of the hall and block every other option off with whatever was handy. Perhaps we could successfully herd the kitten into the empty crate. It took a while, but using everything from blankets, pillows, baby gates, chairs, boxes, and other assorted items from the living room, we managed to make the hallway the best option for the kitten.

I slowly moved the heavy couch away from the wall and didn’t see any kitten. The little guy went up into the folded pull out couch. So, we carefully, upended the couch and out scampered the kitten. He ran straight into the open crate at the end of the hall and that ended his opportunity to explore the house while we went to work that day.

